America’s Cup? There’s An App For That

3 Oct

Well, Russell always said he was aiming for the Facebook generation. So the America's Cup is not only pushing the envelope on the water. It's also pushing into new territory online. And of course that means an America's Cup app, which is now available for iPad and iPhone.

 

Here's what the AC organizers are promising:

The new AC mobile application – America’s Cup, which is free and available in the iTunes app store (soon to come for Android), features content such as latest news, results, videos and event schedules, but it’s the delivery of the real time live action that promises to take the mobile race viewing experience to new levels.

Optimized to run on mobile platforms, the Americas Cup 3D Viewer, driven by data accurate to within an inch from LiveLine, will now also provide direct access to live audio from your favorite teams on the water as well as live race commentary. Future development plans include new levels of Augmented Reality and access to the live on board cameras.

“Spectators can now access live data on their mobile devices coming directly from the boats they are watching racing in front of them,” says Stephen Barclay, CEO of the America’s Cup. “We will continue to develop technologies like this to bring this sport to life in an informative and entertaining way.”

We'll see. I'm downloading it for the AC World Series event going on in San Fran right now.

And if it doesn't deliver for you, here's the schedule for the old school media platforms:

America's Cup World Series on NBC – LIVE

Sunday, October 7 at 1:30 – 3:00pm (Pacific time) (4:30pm-6:00pm Eastern Time)

This 90 minute program will be hosted by Todd Harris and Gary Jobson.

America's Cup World Series on YOU TUBE – LIVE

The America's Cup World Series will be broadcast on YOU TUBE on October 4-6, 2012.

Thursday, October 4      4:30pm – 6:30pm (Pacific Time) (7:30pm-9:30pm Eastern Time)

Friday, October 5          4:00pm – 6:00pm (Pacific Time) (7:00pm-9:00pm Eastern Time)

Saturday, October 6      4:00pm – 6:00pm (Pacific Time) (7:00pm-9:00pm Eastern Time)

Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked*. Comments are moderated and generally will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive. For more information, please see our Comments Policy.

More from the AIM Marine Group